Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Lizards

Old 02-04-2009, 11:17 PM
5 Star Member
Default Can leopard geckos lay eggs without mating?

i have 3 geckos, 1 male, 2 female.
up until the day after i got them (a week before christmas 08.) they were all housed together, then i separated the male from the two females.
today as i was spot cleaning the girls viv, i found two infertile eggs in their moss hide!
so:
1-is it possible that one of them could have gotten pregnant before the split?
2- can they store sperm (as i am sure some lizards can, i vaguely recall someone on here saying that bearded dragons can)
3-can females lay eggs even if no mating has occured?
4-is it possible that i have sexed the girls wrong and that one is a male? (though i could have sworn i got it right, i spent hours trawling this forum and other websites for info and pics!!!)
5-have checked them both over, there seem to be no more eggs lurking within (i hope, though i am by no means an expert in these things :s), should i take them to the vets?

also i would like to point out, they are both adults, both healthy and feeding well, so technically could breed (i just dont want to!), i haven't seen ANY behaviour to suggest that they are a male and female, but then i didn't see any of the behaviour that would suggest laying eggs, nor did i notice that one of them was even pregnant.
any advice would be apreciated.
apart from being totally thick, i hope i am not actually doing anything WRONG per say

Old 02-04-2009, 11:32 PM
Gold Star Member

well yes they could have been pregnant from when they were all in together, and yes i believe they can hold onto their sperm like other lizards. and they can also lay infertile eggs, even if they have never been with a male. if you give them all a good feel to check for more eggs to be on the safe side, but two is a common number for leos to lay first time around.
Old 02-04-2009, 11:34 PM
Gold Star Member