Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Shelled - Turtles & Tortoise

Old 15-08-2011, 07:23 PM
Egg
Question Hermann tortoise not eating

Hi i'm new to this, wondering if I could get some advice on my 4year old Hermann tortoise.
Over the last three days he's stopped eating and isn't interested in doing anything.
I've bathed him for 30 mins just to encourage something as he gets in a strop with me and eat's a lot after having a bath and hasn't done this.
He lives indoors, he has the house to roam around and a viv with one glass door removed to get some air into it, and to keep the temp to the correct temp.
don't really know what to do.
Any help or advice would be great
Thanks
xx
Old 15-08-2011, 08:37 PM
Hatchling

Ok, so my first suggestion is to let your tortoise have some fresh air , obviously I'm not forcing you to go out and by an outdoor run , but what you should do is let him walk around the grass but make sure you watch him ; because he might Even graze on the odd dandelion or bit of grass , also i would suggest to give him some fruit i.e peach , plum or nectarine . that's what i did and he was intrigued by the exotic fruit and tried it
Also is he knew and / or has he been moved ?

Good Luck - keep ^^in touch as this could become major.! But remember if the tortoise was in the wild he wouldn't eat everyday so don't expect them to eat every day in captivity . But fresh air will definetely be good
Old 15-08-2011, 09:40 PM
Egg

hi there. Thanks for getting back to me.
I got him to eat half a strawberry, but he didn't touch anything else. However i can't just fed him that all the time.
He doesn't just live in his viv. He has a ramp that leads out to the rest of our house. which is aired daily. He spends most of his time in our utility room where its nice n warm n has sun in all day.