Reptile Forums UK  

Go Back   Reptile Forums UK > General > Reptile Classifieds - Exotics for Sale and Wanted > Lizard Classifieds

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2008, 03:20 PM
melanie's Avatar
Leopard gecko breeder!
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,086
RFUKTrader: 28 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjrobinson View Post
no there not, so hes trying to rip people off as well.
a bit unfair to say that, ken also sells his mack snows for £70 and so do i mine around the £70 mark depending on pattern or if speckled or unusual l , normal mack snows i sell for £60, ken is also a friend of ours as well, but to say that this person is trying to rip people off based on the price is wrong but all the info information i can't disagree with!
__________________
LEOPARD GECKO CRAZY
our website:


www.marksleopardgeckos.co.uk



Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2008, 03:22 PM
Forum Citizen
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Newquay, Cornwall
Posts: 562
RFUKTrader: 17 / 100%
Default

look at the pic of it, its a completely normal hatchling mack snow that is hardly big enough to sell really isit? tbh i didnt really think about the price, its just clear this guy is a waste of time.

Im not saying what you sell is a rip off as you can see your geckos are clearly well looked afer, worth the money and at least yours.

Cheers,

Ben
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2008, 03:30 PM
melanie's Avatar
Leopard gecko breeder!
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,086
RFUKTrader: 28 / 100%
Default

thanx Ben, i do agree i think it's really weird to set up a site and then use other peoples pics and say they are yours but to think
a) that noone would notice
and b) that the pics of the geckos clearly show that are not that old is foolish.

it was easy to see they were kens pics and i think all us breeders photos although of the same subject 'geckos' have a way that is unique and identifable to us all.
So to do this does question the honesty of the supposed breeder, i hope she comes back and explains why, although i doubt it however lets hope.

I don't watermark my pictures but there again i hoped this would never happen, if someonme wants to use a pic especially on here then it's no problem if i helps explain something like a caresheet or helps with a course/project.

Then just ask please, I don't bite
__________________
LEOPARD GECKO CRAZY
our website:


www.marksleopardgeckos.co.uk



Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2008, 03:35 PM
Forum Citizen
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Newquay, Cornwall
Posts: 562
RFUKTrader: 17 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by melanie View Post
thanx Ben, i do agree i think it's really weird to set up a site and then use other peoples pics and say they are yours but to think
a) that noone would notice
and b) that the pics of the geckos clearly show that are not that old is foolish.

it was easy to see they were kens pics and i think all us breeders photos although of the same subject 'geckos' have a way that is unique and identifable to us all.
So to do this does question the honesty of the supposed breeder, i hope she comes back and explains why, although i doubt it however lets hope.

I don't watermark my pictures but there again i hoped this would never happen, if someonme wants to use a pic especially on here then it's no problem if i helps explain something like a caresheet or helps with a course/project.

Then just ask please, I don't bite
thats it exactly, and for all i know ken could have given permission etc etc but the reason im so confident in saying there taking the mick and that is that to say "this is my adult look out for the babies on available page" is misleading as we all know the adults can have a significant bearing on the colouration and patterning of the young etc so therefore there is no way to explain it and i just cant believe they did get permission off all the various sources about.

and after that you couldnt be sure exactly what your getting in terms of the available page, perhaps someone would pay and not get anything? or something completely different?

When there are good honest breeders like you about where people will get what they see and pay for, the classifides shouldnt be littered with this rubbish.

Cheers,

Ben
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2008, 03:39 PM
hayley_o's Avatar
Ultra Citizen
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,983
RFUKTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjrobinson View Post
and after that you couldnt be sure exactly what your getting in terms of the available page, perhaps someone would pay and not get anything? or something completely different?
I notice the site says a 20% deposit is required, and it lists several collection points... so I guess that's kinda iffy!
__________________


Someone tell me I'm dreaming, the freaks are rising up through the floor...
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2008, 03:41 PM
melanie's Avatar
Leopard gecko breeder!
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,086
RFUKTrader: 28 / 100%
Default

[quote=benjrobinson;1201367]thats it exactly, and for all i know ken could have given permission etc etc but the reason im so confident in saying there taking the mick and that is that to say "this is my adult look out for the babies on available page" is misleading as we all know the adults can have a significant bearing on the colouration and patterning of the young etc so therefore there is no way to explain it and i just cant believe they did get permission off all the various sources about.

and after that you couldnt be sure exactly what your getting in terms of the available page, perhaps someone would pay and not get anything? or something completely different?

When there are good honest breeders like you about where people will get what they see and pay for, the classifides shouldnt be littered with this rubbish.


you should include yourself also, i have heard alot about your'e geckos, nothing but good words and yes i agree with the latter, in the meantime i'm hoping there is a nice straight forward simpe explanation to the above
__________________
LEOPARD GECKO CRAZY
our website:


www.marksleopardgeckos.co.uk



Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2008, 03:41 PM
Nienna's Avatar
Forum Citizen
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wigan, NW England.
Posts: 424
RFUKTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Also the two SHCT available are actually from this thread: Leos for sale - females

And definatly Ken's on the others as one of them was a female I was interested in myself!

Even without this I would have found it...strange as he never says what morphs his geckos are and I'm sorry but thats one of the first things most breeders do.

Also...its kind of weird how this is their first post. Doesn't inspire me to confidence.
__________________
1.2.3 Leopard Geckos, 1.1 Kenyan Sand Boas, 0.1 Saharan Sand Boa, 0.1 Rough-Scaled Sand Boa, 1.0 Colombian Rainbow Boa, 1.0 Honduran Milk Snake, 1.0 Mexican Milk Snake. 0.2.3 Royal Python, 1.0 Goins King.




Last edited by Nienna; 11-01-2008 at 03:50 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2008, 03:42 PM
Forum Citizen
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Newquay, Cornwall
Posts: 562
RFUKTrader: 17 / 100%
Default

thanks, hmm well lets hope so hey?

Ben
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2008, 04:28 PM
frank jordan's Avatar
Super Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: west sussex
Posts: 165
RFUKTrader: 0 / 0%
Send a message via MSN to frank jordan
Default

its dissapointing that people are doing this
i also thought that the 20% deposit looked dodgy
__________________
0.1.0 rankins dragon
1.0.1 uromastyx acanthinurus
1.2.0 leopard geckos
0.1.0 pacman frog
....... cichlid tank
0.1.0 border collie

Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 11-01-2008, 04:35 PM
Art_Gecko101's Avatar
5 Star Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ipswich and Southampton
Posts: 4,758
RFUKTrader: 6 / 100%
Blog Entries: 2
Default

can i just ask why a 20% deposit looks dodgy? when selling my Cresteds i ask for a 30% deposit if i am holding the gecko for 2weeks or more, it stops people messing you around. Which happens alot! esp with Cresteds it seems as theyre pretty pricey

I dont know enough about leo breeders in the UK to know whether this guy is trying to pull a fast one on his customers, but if he is then i really dont understand why because its not even as if the geckos he's advertising are rare morphs or anything! some people hey?!
__________________
Member No. 996

Whites Tree Frogs, Litorea caerulea
Crested Geckos, Rhacodactylus ciliatus
Mossy Geckos, Rhacodactylus chahoua
Golden Retriever (Harvey)

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


Exotic Pet Sites


Help For Heros

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
Copyright © 2005 - 2008, Reptile Forums UK (RFUK™)