Reptile Forums - View Single Post - Corn Snake Help
Thread: Corn Snake Help
View Single Post
Old 13-02-2013, 11:51 AM
5 Star Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by FancyPants View Post
so, i wasn't sure where to put this, so i posted it here and in the snake section.

I'm from Ireland, from Monaghan, and i'm looking to buy a Corn Snake, but I have very little knowledge on them. I was looking through threads in this section and seen someone mention this vivarium and cabinet is it good for a full gown corn snake? Its the VivExotic VX36 with the CX36.

a 3ft or 4 ft is a good size for a adult corn

The next thing is the corn snake, should i buy a male or female and should i buy an adult or baby? where can i order them or go to a petshop to get a large selection of corn snakes? i dont mind travelling a bit to a good reptile shop, but not too far. i would be happy to travel to the north or something.

makes no difference whether male or female, though males may go off food around breeding time but corns are usually great feeders. Adult or baby...both have pro's and con's. baby means you grow with your snake, and usually a little cheaper. Adults, if you take on a well handled snake will cause you no issues, only downside is not being able to grow with said corn. petshop are a little more expensive than a private breeder but i have used both with success, look in the classified's for a private breeder, there will be hatchling's soon enough.

What should I feed the baby and adult? i researched and i think i'm meant to give a baby cornsnake a newborn mouse every 4 - 6 days, and a adult 2 -3 baby mice or one big mouse every 7 days. is this right?