Reptile Forums banner

Complete newbie confused by conflicting advice

9K views 169 replies 14 participants last post by  ian14 
#1 ·
Hi All,

I'm a complete newbie to reptile keeping, having only had cats all my life. I've always wanted reptiles and am now in a position to start. Ideally I'd like a blue tongued skink but I worry that needing a uvb light and food supplements etc might be too much for a complete beginner like me. I've been reading up on snakes and corn snakes look great, particularly granite morph as I'm a geologist, but then I discovered small boas, particularly the Rosy Boa and Kenyan Sand Boa. These both seem very good starter snakes, being docile, slow, having no uvb needs etc. However, the more I read the more confused I get. The Northampton reptile centre produces lots of care sheets and videos and they keep all of their reptiles on coarse beech chips, including their sand boas. This goes directly against what I've read in this forum, particularly the thread on loose substrates and impact which states not to use wood chips.

What do people think? Firstly, are these good snakes for a complete beginner? If so, are coarse beech chips ok?

Here is the sand Boa care sheet I read: https://www.reptilecentre.com/info-kenyan-sand-boa-care-sheet

And a video of a sand Boa living in wood chips: https://youtu.be/bvrx7EM5Hko

Thanks for any help!

See less See more
#3 ·
The Northampton reptile centre produces lots of care sheets and videos and they keep all of their reptiles on coarse beech chips, including their sand boas. This goes directly against what I've read in this forum, particularly the thread on loose substrates and impact which states not to use wood chips.
But they also go on to recommend sand.