Advice required for keeping Rana Temporaria - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Amphibians

Old 08-01-2020, 07:52 PM
Egg
Default Advice required for keeping Rana Temporaria

I am setting up a vivarium to keep Rana Temporaria. I seek advice to purchase and set the correct UVB lighting. There seems a vast amount of choice.
I am new to this, any information very gratefully received.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-01-2020, 10:19 PM
Egg

Some more information and lot of questions.
I have an exo terra 90x45x45 and I am planning on setting it up for my 5 Rana temporaria, I have never set up a terrarium before and I will probably keep two of the smaller frogs in there permanently when the others outgrow it.

I am thinking of using a 5-6% UVB as I have read that the mesh on the top of an exo terra can block some of the UVB. I would prefer one that goes above the terrarium rather than in it.
Does the UVA percentage matter and how does it affect the frogs?
Would a UVB bulb give off heat, if so, should I be worried about it as apparently these frogs overheat very easily in captivity?
Do the exo terra compact tops fit bulbs that are not exo terra?
Could I get an exo terra compact top that is half the width of the terrarium or would it not sit properly?

How would I make a relatively cheap drainage layer, would marbles work?
How is the water removed from a drainage layer without removing everything from the tank?
Can a non-bioactive tank have a drainage layer?
Will a drainage layer work with an exo terra background?
If the tank is not bioactive but has a drainage layer how often would the substrate need to be changed and the drainage layer removed and cleaned?

What vitamin and calcium supplements are best for when they have UVB? And if so, how often and how much. I have been looking at the Repashy ones, but they seem to be very expensive. They currently get Komodo Advanced Nutri-Cal 2-3 times a week.