Reptile Forums

Reptile Forums (https://www.reptileforums.co.uk/forums/)
-   Equipment & Supplies (https://www.reptileforums.co.uk/forums/equipment-supplies/)
-   -   Exo terra Heat Mat holder - review (https://www.reptileforums.co.uk/forums/equipment-supplies/992740-exo-terra-heat-mat-holder.html)

LFBP-NEIL 20-09-2013 11:43 AM

Exo terra Heat Mat holder - review

Viv exotic heat mat holder review.

Neil Reed Ė Livefoodsbypost.co.uk

Safely attach a heat mat to a wooden vivarium is the sales pitch for Viv exotics latest creation I have been sent to test, Its a heat mat holder for wooden vivariums. And to look at its basically a sheet of glass sandwiched in some glass runners that effectively creates a glass platform about 1 cm above floor level with some sticky pads around the base for attaching the holder to the vivarium.

Now immediately this product has got me scratching my head, I have been using heat mats for many years, I have been using heat mats in vivariums for many years so whatís the safety issue? As long as your heat mat is on a thermostat (to prevent it overheating) and you follow the instructions and only place the advised depth of substrate on top of the mat (to prevent thermal blocking and potentially dangerous heat build up) then using a heat mat inside a wooden vivarium should be a perfectly safe thing to do, so what have vivexotic discovered that we donít know? I was hoping the product packaging could enlighten me somewhat..