Restocking outdoor pond - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Fish Keeping

Old 13-06-2018, 09:56 PM
Super Citizen
Default Restocking outdoor pond

Hello!

We have a large fish pond that until recently had 13 large carp in (at least 20 yrs old plus thousands of smaller fish). Sadly a prolonged cold period resulted in all the big fish dying and I would like to replace them - does anyone have any advice on whether it is a good idea replacing like-for-like (13 new big fish) or would it be better to get a smaller number of a few different sizes to restore and balance between the fish in there?

I am aware that some of the smaller fish are likely to be baby carp but nothing obvious has grown up in their place in the past year or 2.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 14-06-2018, 12:52 PM
Postaholic Member
Default Restocking outdoor pond

Well ...

I'm not experienced enough with cold water fish to RECOMMEND these but do LOVE the look of the Albino Sturgeon

They may grow to large but they are sold alongside Koi Carp ..

The normal dark ones are also stunning but I'm not sure you'd see much of them in a pond . The albinos do stand out though .

Also those Golden Tench are stunning as well but again maybe not ideal as Tench are pretty shy and bottom feeders I think !?!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Last edited by Zincubus; 14-06-2018 at 12:57 PM..
Old 14-06-2018, 12:58 PM

What are the dimensions, plus of course depth?
Zincubus likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 14-06-2018, 09:33 PM
Super Citizen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zincubus View Post
Well ...

I'm not experienced enough with cold water fish to RECOMMEND these but do LOVE the look of the Albino Sturgeon

They may grow to large but they are sold alongside Koi Carp ..

The normal dark ones are also stunning but I'm not sure you'd see much of them in a pond . The albinos do stand out though .