Mantella waterfall build - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Habitat > Habitat Pictures

Old 09-10-2015, 04:32 PM
Hatchling
Default Mantella waterfall build

Hey guys! So, this is my first time posting on this forum and I thought I'd share with you my latest build project. I'm not especially good with my hands - I can safely say that this was my first experience of using power tools! - so when I first considered putting this tank together, I had to come up with a simple, relatively cheap method that even a DIY novice like me could achieve.

So, here it is. My conversion of a 12 gallon tank, in which I plan to have two golden mantellas. This post will be picture heavy and I'll try to include as many stages of the build process as I can so you can see exactly what I've done.

First of all, the tank itself:

This was originally used to house my crested gecko when I first got him but he quickly outgrew it and I upgraded him to the tank next door.

The lid had unfortunately warped under the heat lamp and rusted in the humidity so I had to discard it. There's just no way that puppy was going to prevent fruit flies escaping.

I ended up tipping the tank up on its side and making my own door out of plexiglass. It was a fairly simple process, put together using clear, aquarium safe silicon. Success!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-10-2015, 01:29 AM
Hatchling

Phase two: Waterfall construction!

This was by far the easiest part of the whole build. I bought a bag full of small pieces of corkbark for a ridiculously low price on e-bay and, once they arrived, proceeded to lay them out in the tank.

I stuffed bits of rolled up newspaper underneath different pieces to create different angles, in the hopes of diverting the water flow into the right hand corner. Once I'd decided on all of that, I just siliconed everything down and puts weights (read: rocks. Big 'uns.) on them to keep them in place (the sophistication of my methods is unmatched).