Crested gecko Terrarium - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Habitat

Old 04-03-2017, 03:37 PM
Egg
Default Crested gecko Terrarium

Hello all,

Newbie here due to pick up my crested gecko on Monday, and have a few concerns about heating the Terrarium.
I have a cold house even with central heating. My Terrarium is comming with the day/night Led (Exo-TERRA) which I know is only for lighting at day and night and gives off no heat.
So my plan is to have a heat mat attached to outside of Terrarium near the top hope to create a decent temp during the day of around 28c, I was thinking of using MicroClimate B2ME Pulse Proportional Stat 600W Reptile Thermostat Magic Eye to keep it at this temp in the day and then have a 5c drop at night.
What are people thoughts on this?
Do people recommend I wait until I get the crested and see what my room temperature will be!? Or on the other hand get ride of the led and go for the thermo Stat with a ceramic bulb over hanging the Terrarium??

Many thanks on anyone's help that replies!
The Terrarium will be 18''x18"x24"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-03-2017, 11:18 PM
Egg

also what are peoples thoughts on bioactive Terrariums.

are you ok to just have substrate bioactive with fake plants ?
as having real plants would i need a bulb for these ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gann82 View Post
Hello all,

Newbie here due to pick up my crested gecko on Monday, and have a few concerns about heating the Terrarium.
I have a cold house even with central heating. My Terrarium is comming with the day/night Led (Exo-TERRA) which I know is only for lighting at day and night and gives off no heat.
So my plan is to have a heat mat attached to outside of Terrarium near the top hope to create a decent temp during the day of around 28c, I was thinking of using MicroClimate B2ME Pulse Proportional Stat 600W Reptile Thermostat Magic Eye to keep it at this temp in the day and then have a 5c drop at night.