Plated lizard Care sheet - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Lizards > Lizard Care Sheets

Old 22-06-2009, 11:58 PM
Premier Citizen
Red face Plated lizard Care sheet

I am putting up this care sheet for any one wishing to keep the majorly over-looked plated lizards.These lizards can be kept in a community with bearded dragons, however you must also provide adequate items it needs.

My plated lizard is similar to the one in the photo below. I have no experience breeding these as of yet but I do have a breeding pair in together.

These animals although are quite fast and elusive, can be tamed and will tolerate handling. they do not bite but may use their tail to whip and also defecate on you!

Here is a decent care sheet I found:

Common Name: Plated Lizards

Scientific name: Gerrhosaurus

Types:
G. flavigularis - Yellow-throated plated lizard.
G. major - Tawny ( sudan ) plated lizard.
G. validus - Giant plated lizard.

Life expectancy: They can live up to 10 years in captivity.

Size: 16 to 28 inches dependant on sub species.

Sexing: Males have obvious femoral pores as adults on their hind legs you will notice a "comb" like texture. As hatchlings they can be difficult to sex.

Activity Cycle: Active during the day, but like to hide from the sun, so provide burrows and dark areas for them in their vivs.

Position in Viv: Plated lizards are diggers, but also like to bask.

Humidity Requirements: They require a dry environment, but must have access to a reasonable water bowl.

Temperatures and Heating Equipment: Use overhead heating, such as a ceramic heating element on a thermostat to provide a basking temperature of 105F, an ambient daytime temperature of 85-88F and night time temperatures of about 75F.

UV Lighting: UVB full spectrum lighting is required and should be on for 12 - 14 hrs in summer and 10 hours in winter.

Housing: Minimum of a 4x2x2 enclosure

Substrate: You should provide a mixture of soil, sand and bark for them to dig in.