Advised to keep bosc on paper for 1 month - thoughts ? - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Lizards

Old 13-05-2018, 05:30 PM
Regular
Default Advised to keep bosc on paper for 1 month - thoughts ?

Hey all,

I've just brought home a new baby bosc. All of my previous lizards have been 'rescues' from homes that chucked them out when they got too big > so it's my first time with a proper 5 inch captive bred baby.

I was all ready to mix up some substrate, and I stopped to ask about whether there's anything I should do differently for her as a tiny baby.

I was advised to keep her on paper for the first month. Because at this size, even the non-offensive coir/soil mixes I use could be a problem if she eats *enough* of it through missing when hunting.

This obviously doesn't jive with a *lot* of adult bosc care, since humidity is so important, but after discussing it with the shop owner (a genuinely passionate and well-read herp person) I was convinced. After all, consumption of substrate is natural in the wild - but a lot of young lizards do die in the wild, so that's not to say it's safe. As far as remaining hydrated goes, a large enough water bowl will be fine for the first month.

Given that I've given her two differently-sized waterbowls, one big enough to soak in, one big enough to swim in, I was convinced. I've given her some layers of brown paper, and my little bosc certainly seems happy enough 'tunnelling' in and out of it as a substitute for digging soil.

But, I'm wary.

One of the BIG reasons I was looking forward to having a bosc from a baby is because of all the handling and health problems I've had to overcome with my rescues - problems that started long before I ever met them. I want to make sure that my little lizard doesn't succomb to any of the stupid illnesses caused by early poor care.

So, bearing in mind that