Bearded Dragon or Leopard Gecko? - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Lizards

Old 24-10-2018, 09:42 AM
Egg
Default Bearded Dragon or Leopard Gecko?

I have recently decided I wanted to start breeding lizards but am having trouble deciding between bearded dragons or leopard geckos. I do plan on selling the babies but profit is not a priority, however I do wish to at least stay in or around the green and not go too far into the red. That being said which species would be worth breeding starting off? Which one has the better market? I have a lot of experience owning exotics (mainly reptiles) and have the funds to start breeding. I am just having trouble getting started.
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 24-10-2018, 10:20 AM

Probably neither - market is saturated with Bearded Dragons - just take a look at any of the animal rehoming/for sale sites. Possibly not so much for Leopard Geckos as they don't lay so many eggs, but again still plenty for sale. EBay (although against their rules) has many for sale.

There are some threads on here detailing just how expensive it is to raise young dragons given how many will hatch. Do you think you can house them all until you find buyers?

Are you in the UK?
Old 24-10-2018, 11:44 AM
Premier Citizen

Breeding bearded dragons is a very very bad idea unless you have some real high end morphs, you are also unlikely to make money out of it for the first year, even if you can produce high end morphs.

Anything less than that and you will be giving them away and spending a fortune.

Leo market isnt much better, very common and again a saturated market, neither species is a good choice, Beardies just happen to be an even worse choice than Leos.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 24-10-2018, 11:49 AM
Egg

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shellsfeathers&fur View Post