Scheltopusik lizards - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Lizards

Old 17-06-2019, 12:28 PM
Ultra Citizen
Default Scheltopusik lizards

Hi there to everyone.
I've not been on this site for quite along time, but new this was the place to visit if I wanted some good clear advice ( Hopefully)
I've not long ago acquired a European glass lizard who is such a sweetie and very well mannered, doesn't mind being held at all.
I'm a novice to keeping this particular type of lizard and was hoping someone else who keeps them might give me some advice. I've looked up on the internet about them but to be honest not found much that goes into any depth about their care etc, a bit disappointing.
Just to point out I'm NOT a novice at keeping reptiles in general as have quite a few different species so have a good basic knowledge.
Any fellow keepers of these lizards I would be very grateful of some advice

Thanks in advance ppl
Advertisement

Old 17-06-2019, 01:38 PM
Premier Member

Its an incredible species that is for sure! Sadly, there is not much in the way of formal care advice. That's good in one respect as it forces us to look to the wild animal in order to be sure of the correct care...which is always the best thing to do.

Sheltopusik is a highly adaptable and fairly complex species that requires space to do really well. They live over a range of terrain, but generally we can provide scrubland grasses and rocky outcrops in which they will maintain a territory.

Quite a few keepers keep them in secure enclosures outside where they seem to flourish. However, we must keep in mind that the UK summer is no where near as long or in terms of UV, as strong as it is where they were captured. This is a species that will both bury and tunnel, requiring a deep substrate, but is frequently seen openly basking in fairly high temps.