Reptile Forums banner

Bearded dragon with yellow tail? Possible yellow fungus?

4K views 5 replies 2 participants last post by  Azastral 
#1 ·
Hi all, I'm new to this page so if I've posted this in the wrong place/made a mistake just let me know.

/Users/sophieharrower/Desktop/IMG_8298.jpeg
/Users/sophieharrower/Desktop/IMG_8293.jpeg

I have an approx. 2-2.5 yr old male beardie and during a recent health check, I noticed that his tail has patches - almost like strips - of yellow on his tail. He is otherwise healthy, but I'm unsure if this is a sign of yellow fungus, just his natural colouring, or something like damaged scales. Obviously the former is very serious and I have details of a reputable herp vet on standby, but can help feel that I might be overreacting. I've attached images (hopefully they work), so hopefully someone here will be able to advise me.

General health/setup info:

Diet: dubia roaches and black soldier fly larvae as a staple. Locusts and crickets thrown in for variety. All live food gut-loaded on a mix of Arcadia insect fuel and assorted veg offcuts and hydrated with bug gel.

Staple greens are spring greens, typically paired with either carrots, butternut squash, sweet potato or snap peas. I also give a small amount of Arcadia dragon fuel every 1-2 days. Watercress, strawberries and/or mango (all small amounts) are given a few times week.

Supplements: I follow the Arcadia EarthPro supplementation program, so give regular Ca and multivitamins through that.

Temps: basking temp sits around 40 degrees celsius (+/-1 degree or so), cool area sits at 27 degrees C.

Humidity: sits at 35-40%

Substrate: slate tile (nontoxic of course) which is disinfected regularly. Viv is 4x1.5x1.5 but he will be moving into a 5x2x2 very soon.

UV: Arcadia ProT5 12% UVB with reflector