Uromastyx aquarium suitable? & Uromastyx relationship advice? - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Lizards

Old 03-02-2020, 09:02 PM
Egg
Unhappy Uromastyx aquarium suitable? & Uromastyx relationship advice?

Hello, I'm very new to lizard care and this is my first one. His name is Panem and I've had him for ~2 years now. He's still DEATHLY scared of me. He only comes out of his cave if I'm moving slowly or sitting and doing something. And if I do move around, he freezes and stares at me, and runs if I get too close to the aquarium. I've tried handlng him for an hour a day the first few months of getting him (Jan-July), until reading that they hate being handled. So I haven't done much with him at all since unless I bathe him. He still hasn't gotten used to me and I don't know what I should do, or if the damage is already done between us.

Also is his environment suitable? I've changed it a couple times (4) over the past 2 years because I'm still very unsure of what's proper. I see a lot of info about Bearded Dragons and not a lot about Uromastyx, and am unsure of how similar their requirements are.

His aquarium is:
-34in long
-14in tall
-17in wide
He himself is ~1ft, and I don't know his age (or gender for that matter).

The substrate I'm using is Desert Blend Ground English Walnut Shells. Before this it was washed sand and before that it was just a rocky type mat. I switched to the Walnut because all the stores only sold washed sand w/ little sharp pebbles randomly in the sand, which made me fear him hurting himself accidentally eating the rocks.

The heat lamp is a 100w Repti basking spot lamp and a standard UVB bulb. The thermometer tells me the temperature is ~80-90 degrees F at all times, and I don't know if I should increase it or how I should. The Humidity gauge (center of tank) is almost always aound 20-30%. I also put Repcal on his food as a vet told me too in the first few months of me getting him.