Which Reptile Would be a Good Start? - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 21-04-2019, 03:22 AM
Egg
Question Which Reptile Would be a Good Start?

Hi, I'm completely new to owning reptiles and up to this point I have only owned rodents and dogs. To make a long story short, a small chameleon at the pet store stole my heart today and I really want to purchase him, but I have never owned a reptile before and I'm terrified I may kill him. I've researched chameleons but after scouring through source after source I feel like I've just been going in circles. Some sources say that chameleons are great pets, while others say they're "advanced". I'm mainly here because nothing has been able to specify what exactly advanced entails. Would it be detrimental for the chameleon if I were to purchase it (after buying everything needed to care for one, of course)? I have searched many sites and believe I can handle owning a chameleon, but I'm afraid because many of the sources say that a beginner should not start with a chameleon. I wouldn't be able to sleep at night knowing that my ignorant behavior is what killed a chameleon, so I'm trying to find some sort of confirmation that a chameleon would or would not be a good choice for me. If not, where could I start? I know I wrote basically an entire paragraph here and now I'm feeling incredibly stupid, but to make a long story short;

I would like to buy a chameleon and I have never owned a reptile before. Would it be a bad idea to purchase a chameleon, and if so, are there any suggestions to what reptile would be a good start?

- Sorry if I posted in this in the wrong place, I'm new to this forum and not completely sure how this works
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 21-04-2019, 03:17 PM
huh

Welcome to the forum. You've posted in the right place - and you are correctly concerned.