GTP for begginers yes or no? - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 18-09-2008, 07:45 PM
Default GTP for begginers yes or no?

Hi guys i've been reading up on GTP's as i've had my heart set on getting one at some point. The info i've read has been contradicting with regard to who should get one.

I have no experience of keeping snakes but do have experience of Gecko's and beardies. GTP's are often referred to as 'only for the more experienced snake keeper'.

I have considered getting a corn/king or rat snake but have decided not to on the basis getting a pet IS for life. I think it's important to take time and considerations in choosing the right snake, which i believe would be a GTP.

Please all responses with reasons welcome
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 19-09-2008, 12:06 PM
Gold Star Member

i reckon so long as you do lots of research and know inside out what a particular species needs and requirements are, how they behave etc, and more importantly can provide these requirements, then ANY snake would make a good first snake.

Like you say, why get a species that you don't really want?

Old 19-09-2008, 12:09 PM
Premier Member

well to be honest they are a difficult species to keep and EXPECT TO GET BITTEN lol!!

but so long as you are 110% confident you have their husbandry perfect (especially the humidity) then by all means go for it. and theres always people like myself on here if you have any problems!

the only advice id give you is to maybe get a year old one rather than a hatchling as they can be little fers when it comes to not eating! if youve never had a snake before, assist feeding a chondro can be exciting!

let us know what you decide - and i wish you the best of luck with this amazing species!

hope this helped Hell xx

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildlifewarrior View Post
I cant be bothered with people like that anymore....i just burry them in the garden
Sponsored Links
Advertisement