Reptile Forums

Reptile Forums (https://www.reptileforums.co.uk/forums/)
-   Newbie Advice (https://www.reptileforums.co.uk/forums/newbie-advice/)
-   -   Looking for a social lizard as a pet (https://www.reptileforums.co.uk/forums/newbie-advice/325207-looking-social-lizard-pet.html)

moomoo 19-06-2009 04:48 PM

Looking for a social lizard as a pet

Hi there,

Hope you are all well. I have many years experience in keeping amphibians (axolotls), but now would like to get a lizard as a pet. I'm a newbie to lizard keeping, so would like to know some suggestions.Am looking for a medium-sized lizard, which is quite intelligent and doesn't mind being handled, so is 'social', maybe even gets to know me. And if I could take him for a walk in my garden in the summer would be a plus. Have been possibly thinking about a bearded dragon or a monitor of some sort. Friendliness is a must,interesting lizard.

Thanks in advance for your kind replies.

white 19-06-2009 04:50 PM

bearded dragon

ToxicSiren 19-06-2009 04:55 PM

Id deffo go for a bearded dragon, wouldnt really recomend a monitor as a first lizard. But all depends what you want if you have the space for a monitor then go for it.x

imitebmike 19-06-2009 05:01 PM

Blue tongued skinks are also good starter lizards, very friendly too :O

bbear690 19-06-2009 05:10 PM

We are due to get our first lizard at the end of the month, we are getting A bearded Dragon as they are very friendly and socialable, also they rarely bite so this is great as i have small children so i want them to be able to handle it

Can't wait :)

shiftyraccoon 19-06-2009 09:37 PM

I'd say go with a beardie too, cute when young then well handled and friendly when older!

Also, just for the record, axolotls aren't amphibian

ryanr1987 19-06-2009 09:59 PM

If you have the time and patience and do research a green iguana. they are very clever and make great pets when the work is put in :)

Anolefan 20-06-2009 08:28 AM

Quote: