Royal Python housing sizes - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 28-06-2009, 01:22 AM
Hatchling
Send a message via Skype™ to Katalani
Default Royal Python housing sizes

I've recently been putting together a list of all of the equipment I'm gonna need to get for my first snake (a royal python, will be buying around august/september (hopefully)), but I'm still a little unsure in regard to housing. Yup, I'm a totally newbie

Can anyone tell me roughly what sizes should be used at key ages of a 'normal' royal python. (as in, at what age should the size be increased, and to what, if that makes sense) (ps, I'm aware that things like this will probably depend on the individual snake, but a guideline is always nice to have)

I was gonna use increasing sizes of RUB when its young, and then upgrade to a proper wooden viv when its fully grown, I assume thats a good way to go about it, but correct me if I'm wrong.

Thanks in advance to anyone that can help

(ps, sorry if theres already a thread about this i may have missed)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 28-06-2009, 03:26 AM
5 Star Member

hey

you will probably get a lot of mixed opinions on this subject but heres my 2 pence worth

mine has lived in his 3ft viv since he was small enough to fit in my hand, we did have some feeding issues at the start but now hes fine and iv had him over a year.

but yeah you are right it will depend on the snake. if the snake is very young it wont do him any harm living in a RUB and then as he grows up he can move into bigger rubs or maybe go into a viv that he can sty in perminatly.
its a bit of a gamble, id say if your goin to be getting a young snake start with a rub about 30ltrs or so god knows what that is in gallons sorry lol but then work your way up from there. saves you money as well!

some one will be a long with a shorter more helpful reply soon dont worry lol

best of luck

2 BCI
2 Leopard Geckos
4 Whites tree frogs
2 Royal Pythons