Heating Help Please - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 07-07-2009, 10:42 PM
Super Regular
Default Heating Help Please

Hi All, I built my Corn Snake (Jester) a new 3'x2'x2' wooden viv, having just finished I am testing out a heat mat (12"x12") at present without a stat and Jester might I add. Should have a stat in by Saturday. I have put 3 temperature strips in, 1 at either end about half way up the side of the viv and 1 down near the aspen on the floor. I understand that they will only measure the air temperature, this is between 22'c/71'f and 26'c/78'f from cold to hot, I believe the actual floor temperature should be more.

Is this going to be hot enough?

Will a stat keep the ground temperature at the correct level?

Is my mat big enough?
or should I heat the viv some other way?

Please help I'm a total noob and wouldn't anything wrong to happen to my new best mate.

Thanks John.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-07-2009, 10:47 PM
Super Citizen

Offtopic but can I see pic of viv you built and how much it cost to build?
Old 08-07-2009, 12:17 AM
5 Star Member

Hi, heat mat might be a little small for 3x2, it should be about 1/3 of the floor space and since you have 6 square feet of floor you'd need a 2 square ft heat mat. Try 17x12 sideways so it's only 12in wide but fits better into the 2ft of depth. Heat mats are the best way to heat corn snakes.

Measure the temp on the floor, guessing what it will be on the floor from the temp you get up the wall is not much good.

A stat will keep the temp right. It should be 82-86 F on the floor.

Hope that helps.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-07-2009, 09:38 AM
Super Citizen

get some better thermometers as well... those strips are rubbish

Here are some good ones quite cheap:

DIGITAL THERMOMETER **** FAST POSTAGE **** on eBay (end time 29-Jul-09 16:06:02 BST)
Old 08-07-2009, 09:57 AM
Super Regular