Viv heating and electric supply.. please help! - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 20-07-2009, 02:00 PM
Forum Citizen
Default Viv heating and electric supply.. please help!

I've just moved house and am having a few problems with the electrics.
I have 3 vivs. The 2 small ones have heatmats and 100 watt ministats and those are fine, but the large viv is heated with a ceramic bulb covered by 300w ministat. The large one worked fine in my old place, but every time I try to switch it on here it flicks the big switch in the electrics cupboard and all the other electrics go off.

I'm not very good with this kind of stuff and would appreciate any help

Thanks
phoenixxx
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 20-07-2009, 03:00 PM
Super Regular

could there be a fault in the actual plug on the wall or are they all connected to it through an extension? we had a plug in our house anytime you plugged anything into it everything shorted out! it was a nightmare

x
1 iguana, 9 bearded dragons, 2 tokays, 2 leopard geckos, 2 fan footed geckos, 2 housies, 3 carolina corns, 1 creamicle corn, 1 albino cali king, 2 desert horned lizards, 2 YBS terrapins, 1 chinese water dragon, 1 chameleon, 3 whites tree frogs, 1 pacman & 2 dogs
Old 20-07-2009, 03:04 PM
Egg

it could be a couple of things, The circuit breaker its trippng may be faulty or too low, Whats the rating on the front of the breaker usually B32 on a ring main. also does the trip thats tripping have a test button ? if it does its a Earth leakage circuit breaker and there may be some earth leakage from the light in the viv causing the RCD to trip.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 20-07-2009, 03:04 PM
Super Regular

there is an earth fault somewhere in your plug/heater or stat, try plugging the ceramic in without the stat, if that works fine then it's the stat that is faulty, if it still doesnt work then it's the plug on the ceramic or the connections at the ceramic.