new beardie - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 23-07-2009, 05:28 PM
Super Regular
Talking new beardie

this is my first beardie bought off another forum member,i know he is on sand but prev owner had him on sand for last 4yrs with no problems so i thought why change,been feeding on med hoppers gave him 2 today would just like to know exactly how many he should get, every day or every other day have been putting fresh salad and fruit as well.he seems to be settling ok ,will sit on his rock looking about then will hide away is this normal.think i have temps right about 98 hot spot,80 cool end.please be gentle with any advice as i am a newbie.cheers all.
0.1.0Grammostola Rosea
0.0.1B.Smithi
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 23-07-2009, 05:35 PM
Super Regular

I would try getting him or her closer to the UV light.

Change the sand, I understand its been on it before but its surely going to lead to impaction, either that or slate him an area where he can eat without being on the subtrate.
1.0 Heteredon Nasicus
1.0 Ceratophrys ornata
Old 23-07-2009, 05:45 PM
Super Regular

thanks for that , have sand coloured slate/slab in viv will feed him on that have put log under uv hoping he will use that to get nearer uv.
0.1.0Grammostola Rosea
0.0.1B.Smithi
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 24-07-2009, 04:59 PM
Forum Citizen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cants View Post
I would try getting him or her closer to the UV light.

Change the sand, I understand its been on it before but its surely going to lead to impaction, either that or slate him an area where he can eat without being on the subtrate.