New to Leopard Gecko keeping - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 06-08-2009, 08:38 AM
Question New to Leopard Gecko keeping

Hi I am new to reptile keeping. I have just bought a female Gecko complete with set up. 18" cubed vivarium etc. She has a pale body with dark spots on her head and tail. I am a little worried as she seems a lot thinner than the pictuers of other geckos I have looked at and rarely opens her eyes even in a very dim light. She has just shed ok but doesn't seem to eat a great deal. I am feeding her meal worms the odd wax worm and the correct size crickets for her size. All dusted! The crickets seem to disappear but she leaves the worms alone?

I did buy her for the students at a college, for students with complex learning and behaviour problems, where I work. I read to late about them being nocturnal. Was intrigued by her and have decide to keep her myself.

Only had her a week! Appreciate any advice !

Dek
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-08-2009, 10:44 AM
Premier Citizen
Send a message via MSN to ToxicSiren

First whats her set up like..heat, temps etc? Do you have any pics, as it may help? x

http://specialgeckos.webs.com/

Old 06-08-2009, 05:55 PM
Default New to Leopard Gecko keeping

Hi Will take some photos and send them with the info.
Thanks
Dek
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-08-2009, 06:06 PM
Regular

My gecko turns her nose up at mealworms, waxworms. But she wolfs down locust and crickets. My other geckos eat anything. Some geckos do get off to a slow start (growth wise). Shouldn't be anything to worry about, my girl is the same age as one of my males and he is double her size. I'm sure she will soon start packing on the grams.
Old 06-08-2009, 06:31 PM
Premier Citizen

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigA View Post
Shouldn't be anything to worry about, my girl is the same age as one of my males and he is double her size. I'm sure she will soon start packing on the grams.