URGENT: Help regarding ceramic heater - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 08-08-2009, 09:19 PM
Exclamation URGENT: Help regarding ceramic heater

hi, i need some urgent help please.

So today i set up my new tank for my brand new baby uromastyx. There is a problem though; the ceramic heating bulb is heating up.

The bulb is running through the correct habistat day/night pulse thermostat which is working (tested with lightbulb once problem arose).

I have checked the conductivity of the bulb and there is definately a current running through it.

All the components appear to be in working order, and i am positive everything has been set up correctly, but the bulb is not even getting warm, even though the thermostat's light is on (not flashing, fully on).

I have never used a thermostat or ceramic bulb before and have become more than a little frustrated by this problem, and as the ceramic heating bulb is the only heat source in the tank, i am worried about not being able to sort out the problem until tomorrow lunch time when the shop opens...

suggesting, advice, solutions and waves of magic wands all required...

thanks

ben
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-08-2009, 09:40 PM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by benk2009 View Post
hi, i need some urgent help please.

So today i set up my new tank for my brand new baby uromastyx. There is a problem though; the ceramic heating bulb is heating up.

The bulb is running through the correct habistat day/night pulse thermostat which is working (tested with lightbulb once problem arose).

I have checked the conductivity of the bulb and there is definately a current running through it.

All the components appear to be in working order, and i am positive everything has been set up correctly, but the bulb is not even getting warm, even though the thermostat's light is on (not flashing, fully on).