Corn snake regurg - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 11-08-2009, 10:06 AM
Ultra Citizen
Default Corn snake regurg

So i've had my Corn snake for quite a few months now and i've noticed that sometimes she regurges her food, mostly just small parts like the feet upwards and whatever but today she regurged a whole mouse.

Im not sure if this is normal or of im doing something wrong?

I think she is a late 08/09, but she is about 1 and half feet long atm (probably shorter) and im feeding her pinkies every 8 days(9-10 at the most but not often).

She is in one of those plastic Terrariums (with the 2 lids), The temperature in there fluctuates between 22-24, 30-32.
I would like it to be more stable but I think the plastic isnt really a good enough insulator.

Any feedback on this situation would be much appreciated as half digested mice stink!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-08-2009, 10:09 AM
Super Citizen

I'm no expert on snakes however are you handling the snake right after a feed? This can cause the snake to regurgitate its food. Also assuming that you are using a heat mat is this on a thermostat? Ideally the temperature in the warm end should be around 28 degrees C. A temperature that is too high can also cause problems.
Old 11-08-2009, 10:26 AM
Ultra Citizen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pleccy View Post
I'm no expert on snakes however are you handling the snake right after a feed? This can cause the snake to regurgitate its food. Also assuming that you are using a heat mat is this on a thermostat? Ideally the temperature in the warm end should be around 28 degrees C. A temperature that is too high can also cause problems.