Need help with fish start up - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 23-08-2009, 08:38 PM
Regular
Default Need help with fish start up

hi all i have read the thread about the fish cycle and find it all abit complicated.i have stumbbled across a product called tetra safestart and would like some expert advice on this product.if i was to use this i was thinking of starting a new tank filling it with the water and leaving the temp in the 90s then add the tetra safe start, and leaving it for a few weeks while adding abit of food daily all done without the fish.if this is the correct way to do this then would i take 90 percent of the water out and add tap water then few days after add the fish ?.also what is the correct ph levels for a fish.im a newb in this area any help is verry much helpful.
aquarium fish tank i will be using.thnx
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 23-08-2009, 08:50 PM
Gold Star Member

I've used Tetra Safestart on 2 tanks. You're supposed to get the tank up to temperature and then add the fish at the same time as Safestart. Worked for me and I know it has other people. Some old school fish keepers will tell you to avoid it like the plague though.

PH levels depend on the fish you want to keep.
Old 23-08-2009, 09:05 PM

You want to be getting yourself a test kit that will test Ammonia, Nitrite and Nitrate. Ideally you're waiting around for Ammonia & Nitrite to stay at a stable 0 reading for at least a week before adding fish. Using fish food to produce waste for the filter is one way of doing it, or adding ammonia from a bottle is another way. It's a long, drawn out process but it does prevent fish from ammonia or nitrite poisoning. You're looking at approx 4-6 weeks cycling. And after those results are stable, do a large 40% water change and you're ready to stock you're tank

You should be able to find a step by step Fishless Cycling log online