calming savanah monitor - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 29-03-2012, 08:23 PM
Egg
Smile calming savanah monitor

hi im new to rfuk, ive had a long break from reptiles but now have more time to spend with them again.
have got a sub adult monitor is ok feeding but still a bit agressive when handling and touching any tips on calming her down or is it a case of time before she trust me. never had this trouble with my iggy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 31-03-2012, 11:31 AM
Ultra Citizen

Ive heard different "calming" techniques, i was advised to keep picking them up even when theyre whipping and pooing all over the place. I did this and mine never calme down at all, he just seemed to get stressed out. I tried a new approach of coaxing him out with food on tongs (so not to associate my fingers with food, because a bosc bite really hurtss)until he began to trust me moving him back in. Now hes handleable but i dont drop my guard because he can be a bit of a
Old 31-03-2012, 01:10 PM
Banned

It worked best for me by opening the Viv often and moving stuff around and changing his water. Picking things up and putting them down, just being there and doing stuff without touching him, and when it's feeding time use food to lure him into your lap or arms and then stroke and handle whilst feeding to get him used to human interaction. now I can open the Viv at anytime with or without food and put my hands/arms in and so whatever I want including pick him up without a problem.

Gauging when he has ha enough is the key and every Bosc is going to be different. The bath technique did not work at all for me my Bosc hates the bath and either goes mental and stresses out or plays dead
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 31-03-2012, 02:04 PM
Super Citizen