Leopard Gecko Set Up - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 11-11-2012, 10:30 PM
Egg
Default Leopard Gecko Set Up

Hi, im pretty new to this so bare with me.
I have recently purchased a vivexotic 3ft vivarium with the hope to house 2 leopard geckos, i have also bought a heat mat.
I know the basic equipment i need i.e calcium sand, thermostat, heating and lighting.
Just wondering what you would recommend brand and price wise.
I would be really gratefull for your advise
Thanks alot
Aimee

P.S
If anyone is selling the vivexotic cx36 stand i would be very interested
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-11-2012, 10:36 PM
Regular

Are you planning on buying baby leopard geckos or adult ones? And also, I would reccomend using either slate or limo flooring untill your geckos reach adult size. Calcium sand is not really a good choice as a sand, nevermind a substrate. The risks of impaction that come with sand are some what less than people make out. As long as you use a fine grain sand, e.g Argos play sand (£3 for 15kilos) and feed slightly oversized crickets you should be fine providing you geckos have good calcium in their diet. Calcium sand actually makes the geckos want to eat it. Which is definitely not the way forward.

Also you will need a thermostat to control your temps!

Cheers!
Dan.
Old 11-11-2012, 10:44 PM
Egg

Hi Dan,
Cheers for the advise, i got told by many shops to get calcium sand and then by owners it was a different story. I have lino already put in place at the bottom of my viv. I was planning on getting adult leopards but not too old if you know what i mean. Can you recommend any retailers for the thermostat?
Cheers
Aimee
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-11-2012, 10:48 PM
Regular