not sure what to get - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 15-11-2012, 09:55 PM
Regular
Default not sure what to get

Hi

I'm lee and i'm a newbie to this forum. I'm looking to get a new pet as i've had the usual pets throughout my life and want something different. So far i've had cats, dogs, tropical and marine fish tanks, gerbils, hamsters, rats and Giant Land Snails, i also used to help my uncle with his garter snakes.

I'm not sure what to get now. I'm undecided whether to get a beardie, gecko, snake (something small to start with like a corn or garter) or maybe an emperor scorpion.

I have 3 kids (ages 3, 8 & 10) and i want to get them involved as i loved all the animals i've ever had and it's educational for them rather than spending time infront of the TV or playing games on the computer.

I would love a pacman / bullfrog but the wife has said a definite no to any frog (weird, she doesn't mind spiders but wont go near a frog).

I have enough room to house all of the above but not sure what would be best to start with. Just looking for some advice. I usually get a nice bonus from work at christmas so not looking to get something straight away as i want to do as much research before getting something.

Thanks in advance
Advertisement

Old 15-11-2012, 10:50 PM
Forum Citizen

Probably a Leo. They can become really tame, are easy to care for, have great personalities and come in loads of different colour morphs!
sethiman likes this.
Old 15-11-2012, 11:08 PM
Regular

sorry for my ignorance but what is a leo?
Advertisement

Old 15-11-2012, 11:20 PM
Regular
Cool