New To Reptiles. - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 17-11-2012, 05:17 PM
Egg
Red face New To Reptiles.

Hi, im a 22 year old male from Chorley, Lancashire

Im totally new to reptiles, and after a few months of revising about snakes, i think im ready to take the leap and purchase one, now, i would like to know if anyone knows of any shops in the lancashire area (with a website) that is cheap, and cheerful.

I have ordered a 3ft vivarium, heat matt, hide cave, water bowl, and temp sensor, now, im looking more at the beginner snakes (ball pythons and corn snakes).

I just want to know if i need a heat lamp, as my friend has a ball python and has only a heat matt under its hidecave, and he has had no problems with his snake atall? i just want to be sure that i have everything i need before i buy one?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 19-11-2012, 04:45 PM
Ultra Citizen

Ceramic bulbs are a better way of heating snakes that are generally bigger and heavier than say corn snakes.

The best way to look at is a heat mat radiates heat to solid objects, so in theory the heat mat is not heating up the air viv but the object that is directly in contact with.

A large snake sitting on a heat mat will not get the benefit of being heated from above and around it, only the part that is in contact with the mat etc.

A ceramic bulb heats up the air in the viv which in turn warms the snake.

So big snakes = ceramic bulbs
small snakes = heat mats (although you can use ceramics if you wish)

Having said that I used to keep a royal on a heat and had no problems, but if I was going to get another royal i would set ip with a ceramic.

P.S a ceramic needs a different thermostat to a head mat.
Old 19-11-2012, 06:12 PM
Regular

hey
I have a royal and use red heat bulb mainly as means I can see her and sets a better overall temp for her 4ft viv .