leopard geckos and heat rocks - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 16-01-2013, 04:35 PM
Egg
Question leopard geckos and heat rocks

Hi all-new member here, nice to meet you all! Im new to reptiles, have shaun my beautiful beardie for a year and danny my corn snake is 8 months.
I am wanting to get some leopard geckos- any advise on how many I can keep together will be appreciated. Also I am getting mixed messages about heat rocks??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 16-01-2013, 04:39 PM
Super Citizen

Hey there!

I wouldent recommend housing males and females together. I also wouldent recommend housing males together because they'll fight and one might end up dying. You can however house females together with the number dependent on how big the vivarium is. Usual rule of thumb is 2ft of vivarium floorspace per gecko with an additional square foot of floor space for each additional leo. Although, i personally advocate as much room above this rule as possible so that they can roam around and go on gecko patrol.

As for heat rocks, if your gonna use one use a thermostat, this is a must! BUT, if it fails, why risk cooking your pet..just a thought.

Last edited by Gratenkutzombie; 16-01-2013 at 04:42 PM..
Old 16-01-2013, 04:48 PM
5 Star Member

Welcome to RFUK!