Allergic to bearded dragon? - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 18-01-2013, 07:13 PM
Egg
Default Allergic to bearded dragon?

Hi,
I am new to this so sorry if it's in the wrong section!
Our children have been keeping on and on for a bearded dragon so 2 weeks ago, after doing lots of research, we finally got one.
She seems to have settled in well, everyone loves her but since we've had her my husband has been suffering with a tight chest, wheezing and sneeezing.
We thought he would be ok with a reptile as it has no fur/feathers but now we're not so sure?
Could he be allergic to her? Or could it be the calci sand/crickets/something else?
Any ideas please on what it could be as we really don't want to have to get rid of her.

Thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 18-01-2013, 07:46 PM
5 Star Member

I would venture a guess at it being the crickets. Try moving them to a different room, out of the way and see if it makes a difference.

Also, if you're using calci-sand, there's a lot of threads on that particular substrate. Erm, lets just say it's not a favourite on here as it can be quite dangerous for your dragons. Have a search on this site for it (mostly the lizard section) and then see if you still feel the same way

https://www.facebook.com/BizarreBeasts/
Old 18-01-2013, 08:10 PM
Egg

Thanks for your response. We moved the crickets yesterday but no better yet though I guess it's early days?
When doing the research before buying our beardie we weren't going to use calci sand but when we bought her we were told it was the best thing to use and was very unlikely to cause harm so it's hard to know who to listen to!
We were going to get rid of the sand and try maybe reptile carpet or something similar as wondered if the dust from the sand could be causing the allergy?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 18-01-2013, 08:14 PM
5 Star Member

It could possibly be the sand, forgot how dusty it can be!