Never kept Reptiles Before Help - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 28-02-2013, 12:32 PM
Egg
Default Never kept Reptiles Before Help

Hey guys,

I have been keeping marine fish for many years and have decided that i would like a change and have always been interested in reptiles.

My first port of call was to figure out a good beginner one to keep.

I think i have come to the conclusion i would like the keep leopard geckos? Would thid be a good choice or is there something else that would be better?

I would like to keep about 2 or 3 of these but dont want to be dealing with babies. Would i be able to have all females in one tank to stop this? Would this be ok or would there be fighting?

Sorry for such an open question but i am right at the beginning of my journey and want to research as much as i can before i buy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 28-02-2013, 03:57 PM
Regular

Leo's are best kept on their own but females can be kept together if the viv is big enough and has plenty of hides, but I have found that getting females is difficult and if you buy young ones they are hard to sex and males will really fight. A group of females will also squabble but it shouldn't be a prob as long as the viv is big enough. I keep my male alone in a 3 ft viv(2ft is fine) and he looks happy. Cresties are easy to keep as are beardies or even rankins dragons it will depend on viv size and amount of money you want to spend.

1.0.0 Leopard Gecko "pascal"
2.0.0 Lhasa Apso "Frodo,Obi"
Old 28-02-2013, 04:36 PM
Regular

If you're looking to get your first reptile, your best bet would be a corn snake, a bearded dragon or a leopard gecko. Cliché, and with a few odd exceptions, but generally true.

I've never owned a snake, so I don't really have a clue about them.