Beardie not interested in veg - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 02-03-2013, 08:58 AM
Hatchling
Red face Beardie not interested in veg

Hi guys.

I'm a bit of a newbie at this but I rescued a beardie from a friend who due to personal circumstances couldn't keep him anymore. He's a juvenile at between 6-7 months old. I'm feeding him crickets and mealworms, both of which he loves but he's not at all interested in his veg. It just sits in his viv and goes dry. Is this normal?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-03-2013, 11:07 AM
Super Regular

Try putting the mealies in his Veg, it may encourage him to eat the veg. As he's only 6/7 months old it's not a big problem it only becomes a problem when they are adults and they are meant to eat more veg.. Which if it carries on my vet advised me to stop feeding my beardie live food and just give him the veg option and it does work you just have to be strong and think it's for the best. But honestly i wouldn't worry about the lack of veg eating too much yet....
1.0.0 BEL (Super Fire) Called 'Heisenberg'
Old 02-03-2013, 11:46 AM
Hatchling

Thank you! That's really helpful advice I'll give it a go. He's hiding under his rock at the mo so I'll try again at lunch time with fresh veg
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-03-2013, 01:32 PM
Premier Citizen

If you leave the mealies in with his veg in his bowl it may encourage him to eat it on himself as well which is easier for youSorry if i misunderstood it just came across as if you were feeding him veg personally rather than leaving it in a bowl with mealies,sorry again if I'm wrong.
-Chels
1.2.0 Leopard Gecko
1.0.0 Hypo BCI
1.0.0 Normal Royal Python
1.1.0 Cat
1.0.0 Fully Formed Axolotl
0.0.4 Giant African Land Snail
0.0.1 T.Stirmi

<3
Old 02-03-2013, 07:50 PM
Hatchling