Newbie advice - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > New Owners > Newbie Advice

Old 06-03-2013, 07:19 PM
Egg
Default Newbie advice

I'm thinking seriously about getting my first snake (a ball python) and I've seen some advertised as "strike feeders", I understand what that means but I've seen clips of snakes on you tube where they don't seem to be strike feeding - they just sit there munching away at their own pace. Do you need to buy a new young snake that is advertised as having "six consecutive strike feeds" etc? or does it not matter?

I'm new to all this so please forgive me if this is a dumb question.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-03-2013, 07:27 PM
Ultra Citizen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Genter View Post
I'm thinking seriously about getting my first snake (a ball python) and I've seen some advertised as "strike feeders", I understand what that means but I've seen clips of snakes on you tube where they don't seem to be strike feeding - they just sit there munching away at their own pace. Do you need to buy a new young snake that is advertised as having "six consecutive strike feeds" etc? or does it not matter?

I'm new to all this so please forgive me if this is a dumb question.

i wouldnt buy any snake without seeing a feeding record. but then it could have been marked as fed but not. best thing is see snake in person check for signs of burns underweight illness. hope this helps

male and female snow corns
male carolina corn
pastel boa constrictor
Old 06-03-2013, 07:31 PM
Egg

Thanks for the advice. In terms of feeding though - are all pythons basically "Strike" feeders?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-03-2013, 08:26 PM
Postaholic Member
Reviews: 7
Send a message via MSN to Ophexis

Quote:
Originally Posted by Genter View Post
Thanks for the advice. In terms of feeding though - are all pythons basically "Strike" feeders?