Reptile Forums banner

Venus fly trap set up??

5K views 20 replies 9 participants last post by  Ron Magpie 
#1 ·
I've always been.fascinated with these interesting plants..

I'd like to set up a small fish tank to grow some, what lighten, soil etc would be best??

Thanks guys gor your help.

Sent from my LT18i using Tapatalk 2

#4 ·
Hi, I have been growing carniverous plants for about 10 years, and things like mexican pinguicula, nepenthis, and some sundews will thrive in some vivs but Venus fly traps need a dormancy of cool low light over the winter or they just die. The pinguicula etc do well in fairly constant growth but with an altered photoperiod.
Try and get a hold of P D'amatos - The savage garden book or anything by Adrian Slack.
There is a nursery i use with constant good plants and he will advice too -P&J Plants they are called.
But soil mix for venus fly trap - 50/50 spagnum mosspeat sharp (lime free sand) i recomend getting stock from a proper nursery as B&Q type shops sell them but they are inevitably in poor shape (although i have had a few good ones) water with only rain water.
hope that helps a bit, PM me if you need any help.

P.S. sundews need lots of light so in a viv of any C plants id recomend at least 2 Strip lights the full length of the tank with reflectors.

#5 ·
Ideal thank you... I was going to.set up a tank just for the Venus Fly Trap since I.have loads of.small fish tanks and wanted to do something with.them... Although they may end up on my windowsill since it seems perfect from.what I've read so.far... :) I'll look into getting that book... Amazon here I.come.. Lol..

Sent from my LT18i using Tapatalk 2

#7 ·
Fishbowl, live sphagnum, sunny converatory, keep water logged in the summer. Flytraps will go dorment in the winter put them in the greenhouse and don't water them as much.
This is mine with a cape sundew and bladderworts (all doing amazing growing so fast).

#20 ·