Tortoise hibernation - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Shelled - Turtles & Tortoise

Old 29-09-2018, 09:22 PM
Hatchling
Default Tortoise hibernation

Hi,
I acquired a tortoise this year. I don't know how old it is, but it isn't young.
It has different places to sleep, all outside. It has chosen to go up a 45deg air-raid shelter covered with soil, and a brick stone 'house' on top, where the sun shines in the morning, tends to be the warmest place. My garden is mostly shady, this time of year.
It sometimes comes out and down the shelter, walks round the garden, then back later.
I put food out but it seems it has stopped eating. Is it preparing for hibernation? It seems early to me!
Thanks, Camerart.
DaveChil likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 29-09-2018, 10:03 PM
Super Regular

I am by no means a tortoise expert but which species is very important.
Old 30-09-2018, 09:00 AM
Premier Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camerart View Post
Hi,
I acquired a tortoise this year. I don't know how old it is, but it isn't young.
It has different places to sleep, all outside. It has chosen to go up a 45deg air-raid shelter covered with soil, and a brick stone 'house' on top, where the sun shines in the morning, tends to be the warmest place. My garden is mostly shady, this time of year.
It sometimes comes out and down the shelter, walks round the garden, then back later.
I put food out but it seems it has stopped eating. Is it preparing for hibernation? It seems early to me!
Thanks, Camerart.
Tortoise react to day light and they know its getting towards the time of the year when hibernation is due:0)
They do when treated as in the wild (outside as much as possible) start to eat less, (its in their genes to do so) and get ready for hibernation.