Help needed - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Snakes

Old 31-05-2014, 12:18 PM
Regular
Default Help needed

Hi I am new to snake keeping just come across a ad for a snake it's a normal that is 8 months old comes complete with viv for about £200 so I enquired more she is not using a heat mat or stat surly this is bad as the snakes needs it?
maxcherry likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 31-05-2014, 12:22 PM
Premier Citizen

First, what kind of snake is it? Some people have argued that some snake species can do ok without additional heat sources (although it seems to be a highly debated topic!)

Second, my corn's previous owner kept her in a heated reptile room, without a mat or stat- and she's fine. If the snake is healthy, then that's all that matters.... although, if you do buy the snake, getting it a heat source and stat is probably for the best. No point tempting fate, after all!
rhinorogers13 likes this.
Baron Lipton VonSnudge- CB14 Snow Corn.
Old 31-05-2014, 12:25 PM
Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by Misguidance View Post
First, what kind of snake is it? Some people have argued that some snake species can do ok without additional heat sources (although it seems to be a highly debated topic!)

Second, my corn's previous owner kept her in a heated reptile room, without a mat or stat- and she's fine. If the snake is healthy, then that's all that matters.... although, if you do buy the snake, getting it a heat source and stat is probably for the best. No point tempting fate, after all!
It's a royal python normal this is the adhttp://www.gumtree.com/p/pets/royal-phyton/1065301429#photo-content
something is telling me there is something not right with this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 31-05-2014, 12:30 PM
5 Star Member

You wouldn't use a mat for a royal anyway.
A lamp or ceramic is better, mats are not a good idea for a heavily bodied snake.