Newbie advice needed please - tank size etc.... - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Snakes

Old 12-01-2018, 09:52 PM
Regular
Default Newbie advice needed please - tank size etc....

Hi everyone,

Newbie here! Sorry to bother you with some of the usual type questions….!
I just got my first snake about a week ago – a 4 month old 20” Enchi female weighing 160g, whom I have called Honey.

At the moment she is in a plastic tub, 15” L x 12” W x6” H. She has a ‘Prorep’ heat mat and ‘Habistat Pulse-Proportional’ thermostat, medium hide, water bowl and a long branch to climb along. She seems quite happy there, exploring the whole tub, climbing/lying on the branch and of course spending most of the day in her hide.

She has apparently shed several times already and is about to do so again. She is a good eater of frozen (thawed) mice. The guy from the reptile shop I got her from said to feed her every 5-7 days. Which would be better? If I fed her every 5 days as opposed to 7 would this optimise her growth rate, just make her fatter or would it not make any significant difference?

When I take her out to handle she seems very happy with it, apart from being a bit head-shy. She is extremely curious, can move quickly when she wants to and loves to explore our entire double bed etc. She doesn’t seem to be stressed, at least not as far as my newbie opinion goes.

However, my main question is about tank size. I’ve heard so many contradictory opinions and am somewhat confused….

I’ve bought (but not yet assembled) an MFC (with locking glass doors obviously) vivarium for her. It measures 24” L x 15” W x 15” H.