Enchi BP hatchling and tank size? Urgent help needed! - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Snakes

Old 13-01-2018, 12:55 PM
Regular
Post Enchi BP hatchling and tank size? Urgent help needed!

Hi peeps,

I’ve heard many contradictory opinions about suitable tank size and am somewhat confused….

I'm a newbie and have just bought a 4 month old female Enchi BP, who is currently 20" and 160g, called Honey.

I’ve bought (but not yet assembled) an MFC (with locking glass doors) vivarium, measuring 24” L x 15” W x 15” H.

It will have a heat mat (10” x 11”) at one end in a heat mat holder, positioned on the bottom LHS, as per the instructions. Substrate will be 17mm astroturf.

I will be using plenty of hides, branches, some artificial leaves hanging from the walls etc, so as to give her a space filled with lots of stuff rather than a fairly bare and ‘open’ looking tank.

The heatmat of course has a temperature probe, which will be attached to the centre of the mat inside the LHS of the tank. There will be an analogue hygrometer in the middle of the rear tank wall and a digital thermometer with the probe also attached to the middle of the back wall. In addition there will be a cheap adhesive aquarium type thermometer stuck on the RHS of the tank on the rear wall.

Lighting is via a 2ft white LED kit for daytime use, and to pimp it out a little a bit I have a set of 3 single blue LEDs to give some illumination in the dark when the white LED strip is switched off. I have a dimmer for both of the lights.

Could this new vivarium be too big and intimidating for her?

My idea was to put her current tub, with the lid off, at the warm end of the new tank and just give her the option of what to do. I don’t want to freak her out by giving her too much space related to her size, but have read things on the web that say that a set-up as I am describing could be absolutely fine for her.

Any advice would be much appreciated - thanks guys!