Royal python won't eat - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Snakes
Register RFUK Articles Blogs FAQ Community Calendar

Old 05-10-2019, 02:05 AM
Egg
Default Royal python won't eat

Hi I'm new to snake keeping and I got my baby royal about 4 weeks ago and she won't eat for me, she seems to have lost weight so quickly and is significantly thinner than she did when I first got her and her spine is pronounced and she has alot of loose skin. She is very active which I'm taking as a bad sign and I think this may play a role in her dropping weight so quickly.

The temps in her Viv are 89F hot side and 75F cold side, though at night this does drop down to 71F which I'm working on keeping up. The humidity is at a constant 50-60% and she had two hides one on the hot side and one on the cooler side (she favours the cooler hide).

Some things I've tried include:
Braining the pinkie
Feeding her at night and I've tried once during the day too
Feeding her when she's in her hide
Feeding her when she's out of her hide and active
Assist feeding (ended up covered in mouse juice and she still didn't take)

I'm not sure what else to do as I did try assist feeding and she didn't take it, it stressed me and her out too much for me to attempt it again so I'm asking for any advice on what I can do. She is so small and skinny I'm scared she won't last much longer without eating but I'm not sure if I'm just being overly worried. I waited a whole week from my last attempt at feeding to try again today. I don't want to try and assist feed again as I don't feel too confident from my last attempt.

I know this may seem like a silly question but I'm very stressed and would love her to just eat atleast once with me. Any help would be helpful 💖
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-10-2019, 08:28 AM
Gold Star Member

https://www.reptileforums.co.uk/foru...e-heating.html

https://www.reptileforums.co.uk/foru...l-pythons.html