Corn Snakes - Housing Together?? - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Snakes

Old 08-07-2007, 11:24 AM
Default Corn Snakes - Housing Together??

I am new to snakes as I'm really a beardie fan and have just purchased some stunning cornsnakes from different places. My question is could I put these together as one is 12 weeks old and the other is a Dec baby. Would they be ok together in a viv? I am aware they have to be fed seperately but more concerned with day to day living.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-07-2007, 11:27 AM
Ultra Citizen

as long as they both roughly the same sikze it should be ok.
Old 08-07-2007, 11:31 AM
Premier Member

They shouldn't be in a viv at that age, they should be in a small hatchling tub, like this one:

Once they are ready to go into a viv it's best to house them alone. Snakes don't need or like company and housing together can cause problems. I have housed them together in the past but one always seems to dominate or bully the other. This can cause feeding and shedding problems. If one geths ill then you're sure to have two ill snakes and not just one. Plus there is a chance they may fight or try eating each other.

Some people do house corns together and I'm fine with that, but in my opinion it is best to house them alone.

Invert rescue: [email protected]
I am a huge fan of bacon!
If you hate the Hull based reptile rescue as much as I do, then I know we will get on like 'an Ant on fire. . .'
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-07-2007, 11:32 AM
Postaholic Member
Send a message via MSN to snakelover Send a message via Yahoo to snakelover

omg, ANOTHER one of these threads, seriously we must have around 20 a month, just in snakes.

Also i am interested in adult Green Tree Pythons, Amazon Basins, Emerald Tree Boas, Tree Monitors, Fiji Iguana and similar...
Old 08-07-2007, 11:48 AM