Corn snakes - Reptile Forums

Go Back   Reptile Forums > Help and Chat > Snakes

Old 06-07-2011, 11:19 PM
Ultra Citizen
Default Corn snakes

Well, I currently keep two female corns in a 3x2x2 viv, but they never really come out of hiding and so I've started to feel like it's wasted space that could be used more appropriately. I was thinkng I might split them into 2 RUBs. I've never used RUBs before but they were kept in a faunarium as babies and they did seem more actve then. Maybe they feel too out in the open in the viv?
If I did decide to go with RUBs, what size would be ideal? They are about 2 now but are still pretty small. I don't want it too small, I've seen that a lot of people keep them in 50l which would probably do them for now but I wouldn't feel right if they were much bigger. I was thinking of maybe the 70l as that has the most floor space but I don't know if it would be tall enough?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-07-2011, 07:24 AM
Premier Member

To be honest that is what corn snakes are like but I can guarantee you that they do use the space when your not around,such as during the night.ive used rubs for corns before but both mine seem a lot better in vivs,they were quite skittish in rubs and i put this down to it being more open spaced as in it was see through wheras vivs are a bit more enclosed.plus th3y didnt have enough room for all the hides they now have.imo vivs are much better but im sure a 50ltr would be ok for them.
0.0.1 cali king snake-cali (mums),
1.0.0 Hognose - Pinnochio
0.1.0 Royal Python - Daenarys
0.1.0 Sand Boa - Dune
1.0.0 Green Bush Ratsnake - Forest
0.1.0 Amazon Tree Boa - Igni
0.1.0 Leopard Gecko - Nyx
0.0.4 Whites Tree Frogs - Gluttony, Ru, Hodor, Pontiff

Other pets
0.2.0 Siamese cats - Nala and Duchess,
Old 07-07-2011, 07:33 AM
Forum Citizen

Depends on their age I guess. They're probably more active at dawn too...I get up for work at 5am and my corns are always out and about at that time.