Reptile Forums banner

Fluctuating Temperature

335 views 2 replies 2 participants last post by  Mr X 
#1 ·
Hi, I am new to snake keeping and fairly new to this forum so if I have posted this in the wrong place then please accept my apologies, but I thought this advice might help some of you in some way.

I decided to get a corn snake but ended up with 5, all in separate vivs. 2 x 24" for Sashay and Kavorta (this summer's babies), 1 x 48" for Coco who is about three and these 3 vivs I bought new then I got 2 x 36" that I bought when I bought Misty and Max who I was told are about 4 which were their original vivs.

Having set the vivs up I found that using heat mats the temperature wasn't too stable so I set about an idea of how to control it better and this is what I came up with.

1. I got a polystyrene box lid that my frozen mice came in, placed it upside down and put the heat mat in it, checked where all the cables would go and carved out indentations for them and the annoying knobbly plastic bits that all heat mats seem to have so that everything sits nice and flat.
2. Got a slightly larger plastic Ice Box Cooler and put it on top of the heat mat, the mat heats the water in it up so it is like a hot water bottle. I placed the Habstat sensor on top of that in one of the little grooves that is in it.
3. Drilled a hole in the back of the viv for the little thermometer to poke through.
4. Placed the wooden hide (wine box) on top of the ice pack, checked where the thermometer touched it and drilled a hole in the wooden box and pushed it snugly to the back of the viv it and that was it.

It makes cleaning very easy as you just pull it all out to clean it and reassembly only takes a minute or so. This gives them a nice warm hide to sleep in if they want to and a warm basking area beside it where there is a slight overlap.