Reptile Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My nephew decided to take in someone's female 18 week old bearded dragon 2 days ago it came in a 2 ft viv and had only been eating mealworms and greens he put it in a 4 foot viv bought a new reptile glow bulb 10.0 and sorted its basking side to 106 and cool end 84 first day it was fine ate like a pig and the next day it started to shake a little in its back legs and ate around 6crickets but its been sick twice and it has diarrhea its now third day and its shaking all over won't eat at all and is still has diarrhea. He does not have the money for a vet so any ideas? I have told him how stupid he was to get one without being able to afford vet fees. I have one myself so know they cost a small fortune to look after all help would be great also possible rehoming to someone who has experiance with beardies

·
Registered
350 Posts
Wow sounds awful! :(

I'm no expert and not very experienced to give advice really, but I would recommend looking up (search sites?) "MBD" and looking at signs for that.

Is there any chance it drags its back legs around more than using them properly?
Maybe abnormally looks up (as though a problem with it's back) etc

Many signs of it really so best to read up,

Not sure on being sick/bad poo... Maybe worms?

Sorry to hear about her/him, but hopefully you will be able to get him/her to the vet soon enough.
Some will sort out stuff like payment plans to make it easier to afford the bill

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi no didn't drag her legs around just keeps shaking, she is still really alert and her eyes are bright.

·
Registered
684 Posts
could have parasites from stress of move.just a thought..poo test isnt much online.you send for the test kit..then send it back.

·
Registered
684 Posts
has its food been dusted with calcium...i do mine mon tue thur fri sun .the other days i dust with vitamins

·
Registered
7 Posts