Reptile Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi, im kinda new to all of this, as myself and my boyfriend have recently bought an 18month old spur thighed tortoise. We love him to bits, but the only problem is that we have noticed that his bedding/substrate really smells. i think the stuff we use is alfalfa pelets and straw-which was recommended by the woman in the shop. we have only had him a week, and already the stuff really smells. we were told that we only need to change his bedding once a month, is that right? ive also read on the internet lots of conflicting advice about what type of substrate is best to use. can anybody on here recommend a type? maybe one that doesnt smell so bad?

many thanks!

·
Registered
520 Posts
Did you buy him from a petshop?What sort of housing are you keeping him in?chuck the substrate away,the best you can use is a 50/50 mix of playsand and top soil,or you can use hemp which you can get from horse supply shops!
hth

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
we bought him from a reptile shop, it had lots of different breed of tortoises and all other reptiles. houseing wise we have a 3ft x 2ft x 2ft vivarium, they said it would be big enough for him for the next 3 years while he grows.can you buy the 50/50 mix, or do you just mix it yourself? which would be better and smells the least, the sand or the hemp?
Thanks very much for your help!

·
Registered
21 Posts