Reptile Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

I'm a newbie so be kind.

I live in Gillingham in Kent and I would like a holiday at some point. Does anyone know of a good place to board my Yellow Bellied baby?

Thanks in advance for your help

·
Registered
1,894 Posts
Depending how long you were going away for you may not need to board it.
We feed ours every other day and you could stock the tank with plants for it to graze on and just have someone pop by to feed it once or twice.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks,

What do you do about the light?

I think I would prefer him to be looked after by someone for peace of mind.... I worry :blush:

Edit - Plus I am new to the area so dont have anyone to pop by to check on him

·
Registered
1,894 Posts
You could buy a 24hr timer for his lights.
I guess if you don't know anyone and are not happy to leave him alone your best bet is to contact your local exotics shop - maybe they can help you.

·
Registered
5,983 Posts
I'd imagine that would be fairly hard to do, you couldn't move the tank and any other tank would have to be set up for a while before yours went in there, you'd either have to have two of everything or a very willing person who already had all the equipement.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
What do other people do?

I've always been lucky in the past as my mum was close to me and happy to house sit.

·
Registered
3,500 Posts
most exotics shops will already have some form of it setup but it would not really be acceptable conditions i dont think. I cannot think of a single place ive seen terrapins for sale in worthy tanks/setups etc.

But maybe youve just found a hole in the market lol!!