Reptile Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
9,219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey all, i have some Stenodactylus petri, before i got them i spoke to loads of people and was recomended calci sand and told to stay away from play sand tho i keep bumping into people that say i shouldnt use calci sand but change to play sand. Every one keep talking about impactation as well.

Can someone please inlighten me as im getting so confused latly lol, they seem to be doing fine on the calci sand at the moment.

thanks
Spike

·
Registered
77 Posts
Unfortuently I have no first hand experience with any type of sand but I have always heard that calci-sand is the worse kind of sand you can use. The reason for this is that calcium naturally clumps into balls when wet, so obviously the calcium in the sand causes the sand to clump inside your lizard when ingested. Another problem is, with having calcium in this encourages your lizards to eat the sand, obviously increasing the risk of impaction.
From what I have heard playsand is the best choice as it clumps less than most commercial "reptile" sands and of course is a heck of a lot cheaper.
Other things like cleanliness are pretty much the same for any kind of sand.
Its really up to you in the end, some things work for some people and don't for others, so keep a close eye on how often they're pooing and the amount of sand in the poo.
Hope that helped a bit ;)

·
Registered
2,423 Posts
From what I understand, Geckos will actively seek out sources of calcium, whether you give them supplements or not. I have seen so many different versions of the same hooror story a hundred times, and for this reason I will NEVER use calci-sand. Please note this is a picture of an autopsy and its not pleasant.

http://www.avimedia.co.uk/other/necropsy1.jpg