Reptile Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, Im new to snake keeping (thanks to my mum being dead affraid of them!), and need a little help with my cali-king. He's nearly a year old, over a foot long (hard to measure the little bugger properly!) and feeding on 2 fuzzies a week.
I've read on several websites that you can speed up growth by feeding every other day on small fuzzies/large pinkies, is there any truth in this, i dont want to try it and give him a stomach ache or worse?!
Also, he is constantly trying to get out, despite the fact that he is handled every day for about half an hour or so! Is there any way to deter this, or will it be constant? He even trys to get out after he's been handled, like it wasn't enough, i tried handling him more after, and he still wanted out! I tried changing the substrate 3 times now (as i thought that might have been the cause) but still no change! Please help, please!!!

·
Registered
2,530 Posts
Hi

dont try feeding him every other day , thats too much.
Every 6 to 7 days is fine.
Dot know why he is trying to get out of his home so much, but have you checked the temps?
Maybe it is too warm

John

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok, cheers for the advice. I use a heatmat and i dont have a thermostat, was told that a heat mat alone would be ok for him.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
If it isn't the heat causing him to try and escape, what bedding would you recommend? As I said before I have changed it a number of time.
I have tried wood chip, eco earth (coconut fibre), and currently have a zoo med cage carpet. I have heard of people using sphagnum moss and aspen bedding, but im not sure what the best would be for a cali king!

·
Registered
1,527 Posts